IACS Early Career Scientist Award

2021 recipients (for papers published 2019-2020)

Dr David Bigelow, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Dr Giulia Mazzotti, WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF, Switzerland

Call for nominations
Deadline 1 February 2021

Nomination guidelines

The award is given for a scientific paper. The nominee must be an early-career scientist defined as a person who is currently enrolled in a PhD/MSc program or (if no longer a PhD/MSc student) whose highest academic degree (PhD, MSc) was obtained no longer than 2 years before the submission deadline.

Only papers published in international peer-reviewed journals with a doi (printed or online) between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2020 will be considered. Papers published in ‘Discussions’ will not be considered.

Click here to download the nomination form which must be submitted together with the pdf of the paper. Any person, except the nominee and members of the evaluation committee, can submit a nomination. Nomination packages (including the fully completed nomination form and the paper) should be sent to the chair of the nomination committee, Liss Andreassen. Incomplete nomination packages will not be considered.

Nominated papers should present novel ideas, concepts, theories, or methods. Papers presenting results using existing established methods, or papers producing evidence to support an existing theory, or papers presenting new data or observations without presenting novel ideas/concepts/theories or methods will be judged less favorably. The type of journal or extent of media attention will not be considered in the evaluation. More information on the evaluation criteria is given on the nomination form.

Previous recipients

2019 (Paper published 2017-2018)
Dr Doug Brinkerhoff, University of Montana, USA
Dr Denis Felikson, NASA Goddard Space Center, USA

2017 (Paper published 2015-2016)
Dr Thorben Dunse, University of Oslo, Norway
Dr Rachel Tilling, University College London, U.K.

Dr Mathieu Morlighem, University of California, Irvine