Graham Cogley Award

The award was established in memory of Graham Cogley (see obituary) and recognizes excellence in glaciological research by early career scientists. The award was initiated and is generously sponsored by the Cogley family for a period of 20 years, and is shared between IACS and the
International Glaciological Society (IGS).

Graham at the AGU conference in 2011.
Graham discussing a student poster at the AGU conference in 2011.

Goals of the Working Group

The main goals are a) to update and enrich the GlaThiDa global ice thickness data base, b) to perform an intercomparison of existing models that derive ice thickness distributions of individual glaciers, and c) to model the ice thickness distribution of all glaciers of the Randolph Glacier Inventory (RGI).

Download the 2014 proposal to IACS here, which details the objectives and work plan of the WG.


First Graham Cogley Award goes to Carolina Aubry-Wake and Eric Keenan.

More info here

New IACS Bureau for 2019-2023 elected

at the XXVII IUGG General Assembly in Montréal, Canada, July 2019

IACS Early-Career Scientist Award (best paper) awarded to Doug Brinkerhoff and Denis Felikson

More info here

New publication about the history of IACS

Allison, I., C. Fierz, R. Hock, A. Macintosh, G. Kaser, and S. U. Nussbaumer, 2019. The International Association of Cryospheric Sciences: past, present and future. Hist. History of Geo-and Space Sciences, 9, 1–11.

Graham Cogley passed away

See Obituary